أزمة ال 1958


كانت أول مناسبة للواء فؤاد شهاب لتولّي سدّة رئاسة الجمهورية، عام 1952. في تلك السنة، دفعت المعارضة الشعبية الواسعة الرئيس بشاره الخوري الى تقديم استقالته، فعيّن اللواء شهاب، وكان حينها قائداً للجيش، رئيساً لحكومة إنتقالية مهمتها الإشراف على انتخاب رئيس جديد. عرض حينها عدد من السياسيين على شهاب، ان يكون هو المرشح الوحيد. رفض اللواء مجرّد التفكير بهكذا طرح، إخلاصاً منه للتربية العسكرية الديمقراطية التي آمن بها بعمق: فواجبه الأسمى كقائد للجيش، أن يحمي نظام لبنان الديمقراطي وأن يرفض أي تدخل عسكري في السياسة. كان مدركاً تماماً بألا يسمح أن يُجرّ لبنان لأوضاع مماثلة لتلك السائدة في البلدان العربية المجاورة، حيث إستولى ضباط من الجيش على السلطة، تبعتها سلسلة إنقلابات عسكرية متتالية.

في فترة لم تتعدّ الأيام الأربعة من مهمته كرئيس للوزراء، أمّن شهاب عملية انتخاب ديمقراطية لرئيس جديد: الرئيس كميل شمعون. وعاد بعدها على رأس مؤسسة الجيش.

في صيف 1958، ادّى الانقسام الخطير للبنانيين بين مؤيد للأميركيين (برئاسة شمعون) ومؤيد للناصرية (غالبية القادة المسلمين)، الى إشتباكات مسلحة في الشوارع، عرّضت الوطن ووحدته للخطر. كما في العام 1952، رفض شهاب، وهو لا يزال قائداً للجيش، السماح بأي تورط أو تدخل للجيش في هذا الصراع. كان يعلم جيداً أن خطر الانقسام قد يتسلل الى المؤسسة العسكرية. حمى الجيش القصر الجمهوري، ومنع أياً من الأطراف المتصارعة من السيطرة على المراكز الرسمية والإستراتيجية المهمة، ووقف على الحياد محافظاً على وحدة المؤسسة العسكرية ومصداقيتها.

مع زيادة الأوضاع تأزماً وقرب نهاية ولاية شمعون، ظهر شهاب كأملٍ وحيدٍ لإعادة السلم لبلدٍ يواجه خطر التفكك والزوال. كان محط ثقة لدى الجميع لوطنيته وعدم تحيّزه، فإستحوذ على دعم من الأميركيين وعبد الناصر على السواء لتبوء سدّة الرئاسة وتم طرحه كمرشح توافقي لخلافة شمعون. في البداية، رفض شهاب قبول المنصب، للأسباب نفسها التي جعلته يرفضه قبل ست سنوات؛ لكن حين إقتنع أن دوره قد يحول دون إنهيار وحدة البلد، عاد فقبل هذه المهمة.

في 31 تمّوز 1958، إنتخبه البرلمان اللبناني رئيساً للبلاد لمدة ست سنوات تبدأ عند إنتهاء الولاية الدستورية للرئيس شمعون.

إعادة إحياء الوحدة الوطنية


عندما إستلم الرئيس شهاب زمام الرئاسة في 23 أيلول 1958، كانت البلاد لا تزال تعاني انقساماً حاداً بين المعسكر المؤيد للعروبة، الداعم للتقارب مع مصر عبد الناصر، والمعسكر المناوىء لها، الداعم للتقارب من الغرب. نجح شهاب سريعاً في فرض نفسه كحَكَم بين الأطراف المتصارعة (خاصة بعد “الثورة المضادة” التي قام بها الشارع المسيحي في تشرين الأول 1958). وقد ساعده في ذلك الاحترام والثقة التي حظي بهما خلال قيادته الحكيمة والحيادية للجيش لسنين عديدة. شكّل الرئيس شهاب حكومة وحدة وطنية توافقية في 14 تشرين الأول 1958، هي الحكومة الرباعية الشهيرة التي جمعت السياسيين المتصارعين الأساسيين، فضمّت رشيد كرامي رئيساً والوزراء حسين العوَيني، ريمون إدّه وبيار الجميّل. عاشت هذه الحكومة حتى 14 أيّار 1960 بعد ان جرى تعديلها وتوسيعها في تشرين الأول 1959. قبيل الإنتخابات النيابية المقررة في حزيران 1960 شكّل شهاب حكومة حيادية برئاسة احمد الداعوق لتشرف على الإنتخابات.

في السياسة الداخلية، أحيى الرئيس شهاب مجدداً روح الميثاق الوطني لعام 1943 (“الدستور غير المكتوب”)، الذي يرتكز على إنتاج توافق وطني عند كل محطة سياسية، وعلى مشاركة الجميع في السلطة والقرار.

أما على الصعيد الدولي، فقد أبقى شهاب على علاقات وديّة ثابتة مع العالم الغربي – خاصة مع فرنسا ديغول  والفاتيكان – وثبّت في المقابل هوية لبنان العربية الكاملة كعضو فاعل في جامعة الدول العربية. رفض أن يكون لبنان طرفاً في أي نزاع عربي عربي، وشجّع دوماً التضامن والأخوّة بين جميع البلدان العربية.

شكّلت الجمهورية العربية المتحدة التي ضمت مصر وسوريا برئاسة جمال عبد الناصر، واقعاً مربكاً لشهاب. كان عبد الناصر قائداً عربياً كبيراً يتمتّع بشخصية فذّة، تكنُّ له أكثرية الجمهور المسلم اللبناني عاطفة خاصة، في حين ترتاب منه أكثرية من المسيحيين. نجح شهاب في طمأنة عبد الناصر بأن لا يسمح بأية حركة ضدّ الجمهورية العربية المتحدة تنطلق من الأراضي اللبنانية، وفي المقابل نال منه تعهداً واضحاً باحترام سيادة وحرية واستقلال لبنان، وتفهّم خصوصياته. تُرجم هذا التفاهم  بقمة “الخيمة” الشهيرة  بين رئيسي الدولتين التي انعقدت في آذار 1959 على الحدود اللبنانية السورية.

استقالة تمّوز 1960


كانت خطوة إجراء انتخابات نيابية جديدة على أسسٍ عادلة، خطوة ضرورية ارادها الرئيس شهاب لتضميد جراح ما عرِف بأزمة ال 1958 وتعزيز الاستقرار. في نيسان 1960، أقر المجلس النيابي قانوناً انتخابياً جديداً متوازناً يمهد الطريق لتمثيل نيابي صحيح. أخذ هذا القانون، بعين الاعتبار كل خصائص واحتياجات مختلف الشرائح السياسية والطائفية اللبنانية.
(في العام 2009، وبعد حوالي 50 سنة، كانت إسس هذا القانون ركيزة لقانون انتخابي “عادل”، رضي به جميع الفرقاء في حينه!)في أيار 1960، شُكّلت حكومة غير سياسية للإشراف على الانتخابات، وفي حزيران جرت الانتخابات بهدوء.في 20 تموز 1960، اي بعَيد تلك الانتخابات، رأى الرئيس شهاب أن اوضاع البلاد قد استقرّت وقد تمّ تمهيد الطريق أمام الإصلاحات، فقدّم إستقالته ودعا لإنتخابات رئاسية جديدة. إقتنع أنه قد أتمّ واجبه الإنقاذي حين كانت البلاد تواجه وضعاً طارئاً خطيراً عام 1958، وبات من الواجب الآن تسليم الأمانة الى خلفٍ من المدنيين.
(في سنواتها الأخيرة، كشفت زوجة الرئيس شهاب لعددٍ من المقربين سراً حملته زمناً طويلاً: حين وافق الرئيس عام 1958 قبول سدّة الرئاسة على مضض، أعرب لها عن نيّته التنحي عند عودة الاستقرار إلى البلاد، إخلاصاً منه لمبدأ حماية نظام لبنان الديمقراطي من تدخل العسكريين في السياسة. وكان قد منح نفسه سنتين لإنجاز هذه المهمة!)بعد يوم طويل من المناقشات المكثّفة, وتجمّع النواب في منزل شهاب في جونيه، نجح هؤلاء في إقناعه بالبقاء في منصبه. عندها قرر أن يكرّس ما تبقى من ولايته لقيادة مشاريع التنمية والإصلاح وتحديث الدولة.عام 1961، قام الحزب السوري القومي الاجتماعي بمحاولة انقلاب عسكري أحبطها الجيش اللبناني. منعاً لحدوث محاولات مماثلة مستقبلاً، عزّز شهاب مخابرات الجيش اللبناني والأجهزة الأمنية، ساعياً ايضاً للحدّ من التدخلات الأجنبية في الشؤون الداخلية.

قناعات شهاب في ما يتعلق بالدولة


خلال خدمته العسكرية في الجيش، عايش شهاب الظروف الاقتصادية الصعبة وأسلوب الحياة البدائي التي يعاني منها بعض ابناء بلده (خاصة في عكار والبقاع والجنوب). كانت طفولته المتواضعة وإيمانه المسيحي وثقافته الديمقراطية المعززّة بنشأته في كنف المؤسسة العسكرية الفرنسية، مدرسة القيَم والمبادىء العالية، قد رسّخت في نفسه النظرة الإنسانية في مقاربة المسائل الحياتية. من هنا تكوّنت قناعته بوجوب مقاربة الحياة العامة من خلال واقعها الاجتماعي.أدرك الرئيس شهاب جيداً من تجاربه الشخصية ضمن المجتمع اللبناني، أن العقبة الأصعب التي تقف في طريق بناء مؤسسات عامة محترمة قادرة على توفير الأمن والازدهار، وحماية الحقوق والفرص المتكافئة والكرامة للمواطنين، إنما هي العقلية المتوارثة منذ الحقبة العثمانية لدى اللبنانيين، التي تقضي بإعتبار الزعماء الإقطاعيين والطائفيين كمرجع يؤمّن الاحتياجات والحقوق بدلاً عن الدولة.

رأى شهاب أن الحد من الولاء الطائفي والأقطاعي وتعزيز الإنتماء الوطني، يأتي اولاً بتأمين الدولة لحاجيات المواطنين كاملة وحماية حقوقهم ضمن مؤسسات عامة فعّالة وعادلة. “لنزودهم أولاً بدولة مؤسسات وخدمات يتساوى فيها الجميع، وسوف يشدّهم ذلك تدريجياً للشعور بالإنتماء لهوية وطنية وحيدة”. تلك كانت نظرة الرئيس شهاب. وبعد أن كرّس العامين الأولين من ولايته لإعادة السلم الأهلي وتأمين الاستقرار، ركّز نشاطه لبناء هذه الدولة كما ارادها.

خلال الفترة الثانية من ولايته (1961 – 1964)، حافظ شهاب على نفس التوازن السياسي في تشكيل الحكومات الوزارية المتتالية التي تمثلت فيها دوماً كل الفئات السياسية؛ هذا مع حرصه على إدخال بعض الوجوه الشابة والكفوءة الى حلبة المسؤولية السياسية العامة، أمثال الياس سركيس وفؤاد بطرس وغيرهما…

وقد ألّف صائب سلام حكومتين متتاليتين من آب 1960 حتى تشرين الأول 1961؛ ثم ترأس رشيد كرامي حكومة إستمرت من تشرين الأول 1961 حتى شباط 1964؛ وكانت الحكومة الأخيرة برئاسة حسين العويني (من شباط لغاية تشرين الأول 1964).

فترة مزدهرة للبنان

شهدت ولاية شهاب فترة إستقرار سياسي وأمني في لبنان، مع بعض المناوشات المحدودة على الحدود مع “إسرائيل”. إستتب الهدوء على الحدود اللبنانية – السورية مما أمن حركة تجارية مزدهرة مع سوريا وباقي الدول العربية. فبإستثناء محاولة الانقلاب الفاشلة التي قام بها الحزب القومي السوري في العام 1961، كان الوضع الأمني هادئاً ومُطمئناً، مما سمح لورشات الإصلاح ومشاريع التنمية الشاملة المتكاملة بالإنطلاق بزخم كبير. وقد شجّعت تلك الأجواء الاستثمارات من قبل الشركات الأجنبية، وعمّ الازدهار كافة القطاعات. تقدّم الاقتصاد اللبناني الى الأمام وفرض لبنان نفسه كمركز للأعمال والسياحة في العالم العربي، وكهمزة وصل تجارية بين الشرق والغرب.

بعثة "ايرفد"

في العام 1959، كلّف الرئيس شهاب الأب لوبريه من مؤسسة “إيرفد” (معهد الأبحاث والتدريب بهدف التنمية) إجراء دراسات استقصائية ومسح شامل لجميع القدرات الطبيعية والبشرية والاقتصادية والاجتماعية على كافة الأراضي اللبنانية، وإقتراح خطط ومشاريع وحلول للمشاكل الاقتصادية والاجتماعية القائمة.كان الأب لوبريه (كاهن فرنسي ورجل اقتصاد) مدير مؤسسة “إيرفد”، وهي مؤسسة رائدة عالمياً إعتمدتها منظمة الأونيسكو والفاتيكان لإجراء دراسات للتنمية في بلدان العالم الثالث. إختيارهكذا مؤسسة عالمية، جعل الدراسات ومشاريع الإصلاح خارج سلطة تأثير أصحاب المصالح الطائفية التقليدية.

أكّدت التقارير والتوصيات المفصّلة التي قدمتها بعثة “إيرفد” في العام 1961 ما كان قد إستشفه الرئيس شهاب بأن وراء النزاعات والمشاكل السياسية والطائفية في لبنان، تكمُن مشاكل اجتماعية واقتصادية خطيرة؛ وإن الازدهار الظاهر في العاصمة بيروت، يخفي تخلفاً وفقراً مرعبين في مناطق أخرى، خاصةً البقاع والهرمل وعكار والجنوب، التي تفتقر حتى للبنية التحتية الأساسية مثل الكهرباء والماء والطرقات… كان المزارعون والمواطنون القاطنين في المناطق الريفية المهمَلة ينتقلون إلى ضواحي بيروت بحثاً عن دخل أفضل، ما خلق “حزاماً من البؤس” حول المدينة. تمّ تشخيص فجوات اجتماعية واقتصادية كبيرة ضمن المجتمع وبين المناطق، خاصة على مستوى الدخل القومي.

طلب الرئيس شهاب من البعثة مواصلة عملها وتقديم حلول إضافية لمعالجة المشاكل ومواطِن الضعف التي جرى تشخيصها، وكرّس ما تبقى من ولايته للمباشرة في تنفيد وإنجاز اكبر عدد من المشاريع الإنمائية في المجال الاجتماعي والاقتصادي وذلك في كافة المناطق اللبنانية، وفي إنجاز إصلاحات إدارية أساسية في هيكلية الدولة.

الإنجازات الإصلاحية والتنموية للعهد الشهابي

اسلوب الرئيس شهاب لتحقيق التغيير هو إتباع خطوات تدريجية لا ثورية. كان يعلم أنه أذا فرضت تغييرات سريعة وجذرية في بلد مثل لبنان، قد يعبّد ذلك الطريق لردود فعل معاكسة تظهر عاجلاً أم آجلاً فتعيد الأمور الى الوراء. وكان يعلم أن تغييراً عميقاً يتطلب وقتاً ليعتاد عليه المجتمع، وليستوعب المواطن مبادئه بعد الإختبار ولمس الفوائد.

نستعرض فيما يلي أهم المشاريع والإصلاحات التي نفذت أو تمّ البدء بتنفيذها خلال عهد الرئيس شهاب:

 

على الصعيد الإداري:

عانت الإدارة من الأمور التالية: الفساد، تبعية الموظفين للزعامات الطائفية والأقطاعية، المحسوبية في التعيينات وفي الخدمات المقدمة، إنعدام الكفاءة، رداءة الخدمات المقدمة للمواطن، وجود تجهيزات بدائية.

لمعالجة هذه الحالة، أنشأ هيئة التفتيش المركزي في بداية العهد، مهمتها رصد ومراقبة عمل موظفي الدولة وتحسين الخدمات المقدمة للمواطنين. تبع ذلك إنشاء مجلس الخدمة المدنية الذي نظّم شروط التوظيف، والمناقلات، وترقية الموظفين حسب معايير الجدارة ففرض المؤهلات المطلوبة، وامتحانات الدخول، وإستبدل المحسوبية السياسية المنتشرة على نطاق واسع بالكفاءة المهنية. كذلك، أنشأ المعهد الوطني للإدارة لتأمين التدريب لموظفي الدولة، وتعزيز دراستهم وكفاءتهم. كما أنشئَت تعاونية موظفي الدولة .

وتم إنشاء ديوان المحاسبة لمراقبة الجانبين المالي والقانوني للإجراءات العامة والقرارات المقترحة.

ووضع قانون للبلديات, جديد، أسست بموجبه 380 بلدية جديدة في مختلف المناطق، وتوسعت صلاحيات محافظي المناطق للتقليل من مركزية الخدمات الإدارية.

على الصعيد القضائي، أعيد تنظيم المجلس الأعلى للقضاء، مجلس شورى الدولة، ومعهد الدراسات القضائية..

كان إيمان شهاب بالقيم الديمقراطية وحرية الصحافة عميقاً. لمواجهة ضعف مناعة الإعلام الخاص أمام التدخل الخارجي، أعيد تنظيم وزارة الإعلام بهدف تعزيز وسائل الإعلام الرسمية.

كذلك، أعيد تنظيم وزارة التصميم لتلبي احتياجات مشاريع التنمية والإصلاحات المختلفة.

على الصعيد الاجتماعي والاقتصادي

كما ورد سابقاً، اعتبر الرئيس شهاب أن التنمية الاجتماعية هي العنصر الأهم لتعزيز الإنتماء الوطني وتحسين مستوى عيش المواطنين. كان الهدف خلق عدالة اجتماعية من خلال تنمية متوازية ومتكاملة على نطاق الوطن.

عام 1959، أنشأ مكتب التخطيط والإنماء الاجتماعية ، تبعه بعد حين المجلس الوطني للتخطيط والإنماء . في العام 1962، تمّ اعتماد أول خطة وطنية عامة للإنماء وتشكيل العديد من اللجان والهيئات المختصة وإعادة تنظيم لجان وهيئات أخرى لتعزيز الحداثة ومختلف المشاريع والخطط الإنمائية التي شملت مجالات الاقتصاد، التمويل، المصارف، التعليم، الزراعة، الصناعة، البناء، السياحة، الصحة، الرعاية الاجتماعية، الشرطة والإدارة. بدأ العمل بـالمجلس الوطني للبحوث العلمية ، الذي جمع أفضل العلماء والإختصاصيين والباحثين في البلاد؛ وتمّ إعطاؤه، إسوة بالبلدان الأوروبية، دوراً أساسياً في المشورة المهنية في كل الدراسات التحضيرية.

وأنشأ مجلس تنفيذ المشاريع الكبرى تماشياً مع المجلس المماثل القائم في فرنسا؛ وكانت أولى المشاريع تزويد المناطق المهملة والنائية ببنية تحتية أساسية، تبعها الإنشاءات الكبرى من طرقات وجسور. فتم تزويد حوالي 1150 بلدة بالماء، والكهرباء، والطرقات، وبناء المدارس. كما قام المجلس بتنفيذ مشاريع كبرى تفيد القطاع الصناعي. (تضاعف عدد العاملين في قطاع الصناعة ثلاث مرات بين العام 1958 والعام 1964). وتمّ إنشاء مجلس تنفيذ المشاريع الكبرى لمدينة بيروت .

في بداية عهده، رفع الحد الأدنى للأجور بشكل لافت ومدروس (من 94 ليرة لبنانية إلى 125 ليرة لبنانية) واعتمدت آلية لتعديله عند الحاجة. وصدر قانون عمل الأجانب لتنظيم اوضاع اليد العاملة الأجنبية وحماية العمال المحليين.

إفتتحت المدارس، والمراكز الصحية والاجتماعية في المناطق فأمّنت الخدمات الاجتماعية والتدريب لسكان الريف بغية دعم النشاطات الحِرَفية واليدوية. تم ايضاً تأمين التدريبات والتوعية الزراعية للمزارعين، وتمّ إنشاء مكتب الفاكهة، ومكتب القمح والشمندر السكريلتزويد المزارعين بالدعم التقني، ومساعدتهم في التعليب والتسويق ومراقبة النوعية العالمية والتصدير. صدر قانون التعاونيات لتشجيع التضامن بينها ومشاركة المزارعين للنفقات والتوفير. (زادت أرقام صادرات لبنان ثلاثة أضعاف بين عامي 1961 و1965).

أعطي التعليم اهتماماً أساسياً، لاسيما في المناطق النائية. بين العام 1959 والعام 1970، ارتفع عدد الطلاب في الجنوب والبقاع من 64 ألف إلى 225 ألف طالب. صدر قانون تنظيم التعليم العالي ، وتمّ إنشاء مديرية الرياضة والشباب. جرى توسيع نطاقالجامعة اللبنانية بإفتتاح فروع في الاختصاصات التالية: القانون، العلوم السياسية، الآداب، العلوم والدراسات الاجتماعية.

عملاً بتوصيات بعثة “إيرفد”، تمّ إقرار الأولوية لتشجيع السياحة اللبنانية وأُنشىء المجلس الوطني للسياحة؛ فأعيد تأهيل وتجديد المراكز السياحية كمغارة جعيتا، والحفريات الاثرية في صيدا وجبيل وصور وعنجر وطرابلس، كما تمّ بناء محطات استراحة قرب هذه المواقع، ومواقع اخرى هامة مثل قلعة بعلبك. وفتحت مكاتب سياحية في العديد من المدن الأوروبية، العربية، والأميركية. (ارتفع عدد الفنادق في البلاد من 245 فندق في العام 1960، إلى 339 في العام 1970.

كان إنشاء الصندوق الوطني للضمان الاجتماعي (تمّت محاربته بشدّة من بعض كبار أرباب العمل) إنجازاً هاماً أدى إلى توفير ضمانة مالية واستقرار لدى العاملين، إذ زوّدهم بحق الحصول على تعويضات عند نهاية الخدمة والتقاعد، وأمن التغطية الصحية. تمّ أيضا إنشاء مديرية الإسكان.

إنجاز رئيسي آخر كان قانون النقد والتسليف وإنشاء مصرف لبنان المركزي لتنظيم القطاعات المصرفية والمالية (كانت السلطة المصرفية لا تزال بيد “مصرف لبنان وسوريا” المنشأ في ايام الإنتداب الفرنسي). واجه هذان المشروعان انتقادات عنيفة من بعض كبار رجال الأعمال بحجة أنهما سوف يهددان الاقتصاد الحر والسريّة المصرفية ويمهدان لتدخل حكومي شبيه بما هي الحال في الأنظمة بالإشتراكية. لم يكترث الرئيس شهاب لتلك الحملات وواظب على إعطاء أولوية عالية لهذين المشروعين وأشرف على تنفيذهما شخصياً.

في المجال البيئي، بدأ العمل ب الـمشروع الأخضر، وأنجز تنفيذ مشروع الليطاني وسد القرعون. قدم المشروع الأخضر الإرشادات الفنية للمزارعين والقروض الطويلة الأمد. فتح طرقات جديدة (بلغت 113 كلم) وخصّ مشاريع الرَي بإهتمام أولي (بناء 650 خزاناً) ووزّع عدداً كبيراً من الأشتال والبذور، كما نفّذت حملات تشجير ضخمة ومشاريع زراعية شملت إستصلاح عشرات الآلاف من الهكتارات.

هدف قانون البناء الجديد و قانون التنظيم المدني الى تنظيم قطاع البناء والتخطيط العمراني وانشاء الملاجىء وحماية الشواطئ البحرية وبناء الموانىء الصغيرة للصيادين على طول الساحل وحماية المناطق الخضراء من التشويه والتدمير.

واخيراً، جرى توسيع مرفأي صيدا وطرابلس، وإنهاء بناء الحوض الثالث في مرفأ بيروت والمباشرة في بناء مرفأ جونيه. وأنجزت اتوسترادات الزوق-فاريّا في كسروان وبكفيا-القليعات بين المتن وكسروان، وبوشر بإنشاء الطرق الجبلية والطرق الرابطة بين الساحل والبقاع.

The 1958 Crisis

The first occasion for General Fouad Chehab to be elected as President presented itself in 1952. That year, following the uprising against President Bechara El Khoury which led him to resign, General Chehab, who was the Army Commander, was named Prime Minister heading a tripartite Cabinet to oversee the elections of a new president. Many politicians supported Chehab as an unchallenged candidate for the Presidency. Faithful to his deep democratic political education, he declined to even consider such a possibility. He believed that his highest duty as the Army Commander was to protect Lebanon’s democratic regime and to stand against any military involvement in politics. He was very perceptive to not allowing Lebanon to be dragged into situations similar to those in the neighboring Arab countries, where army officers took over power, opening the door to a chain of successive military coups.

Four days into his mission as Prime Minister, Chehab had ensured the democratic election of a new president for the country: President Camille Chamoun. Chehab then diligently refocused on his military responsibilities.

In the summer of 1958, the serious division of the Lebanese parties and public between pro-Americans (headed by Chamoun) and pro-Nasser (grouping the majority of Muslim leaders), manifested in armed clashes in the streets creating a volatile situation and jeopardizing the future of the newly independent state and its unity. Like in 1952, during the uprising against President El Khoury, Chehab, still Commander of the Lebanese Army, refused to allow any military interference or intervention; especially that he knew that the Army ran the inevitable risk of becoming divided itself. Under his command, the Army simply protected the presidential palace, prevented any of the fighting parties from taking over places of strategic importance, and remained thus united and immune.

As the crisis deepened and the Chamoun mandate neared its end, Chehab represented the only chance to bring back peace to a country facing a threatening predicament. He was widely trusted for his patriotism and impartiality, and was now supported by both the US and Nasser for his integrity. He was therefore proposed as the consensus presidential candidate to succeed Chamoun. At first, Chehab refused to accept the job, for the same reasons that saw him refuse it six years earlier. But when he became convinced that his role would prevent the possible collapse of the country’s unity, he finally accepted this mission. He was elected by the Lebanese Parliament on 31 July 1958.

Rebuilding National Unity

When President Chehab took office on 23 September 1958, the country was still severely divided between a pro-Arab camp, favorable for a rapprochement with Egypt’s Nasser, and a pro-West camp, favoring a rapprochement with the West. Due to the authority and respect that he had gained in his wise leadership of the Army over the years, he succeeded in imposing himself as a judge for the rival parties (especially after the brief ‘counter-uprising’ by Christian groups in October 1958). He formed a National Unity consensus government grouping the main rival politicians. This was the famous four-Minister Cabinet that included Rachid Karame (Prime Minister), Hussein Oueini, Raymond Edde and Pierre Gemayel. It governed from 14 October 1958 to 14 May 1960 (It was modified and expanded in October 1959).

On the internal front, Chehab’s guiding principle was the spirit of the National Pact of 1943, the ‘non-written constitution’, which is founded on the art of constantly restructuring consensus at the national level, and ensuring everyone’s participation in government.

At the international level and regarding Lebanon’s delicate foreign policy challenge, Chehab’s wisdom was to keep healthy friendly ties with the Western world – most particularly De Gaulle’s France and the Vatican – while assuming Lebanon’s full Arab identity as an active member of the Arab League. He refused to let Lebanon take part in any inter-Arab conflict, encouraging solidarity and ‘brotherhood’ amongst all the Arab countries.

The neighboring United Arab Republic, grouping Egypt and Syria, and headed by Jamal Abdel Nasser, represented another delicate challenge. Abdel Nasser was the uncontested and highly charismatic Arab leader to whom the Muslim Lebanese public had a special affection, while the Christians looked at him with fear. Chehab succeeded in reassuring Nasser that no hostility against the United Arab Republic would be allowed to emerge from the Lebanese territory, and in return he got a clear undertaking from Nasser that Lebanon’s sovereignty, freedom and independence would be respected at all times. This was translated by the famous March 1959 Chehab-Nasser summit held under a tent, right at the Lebanese-Syrian border.

The July 1960 Resignation

A needed step to reinforce stability and completely heal the wounds of the 1958 crisis was to hold new parliamentary elections on fair democratic basis (The controversial elections of 1957 having been a main reason for the 1958 uprising). In April 1960 a carefully balanced new electoral law was passed by the Parliament paving the way for a fair parliamentary representation. This law tactfully took into consideration all the particularities and needs of the various Lebanese political and confessional textures. (In 2009, almost 50 years later, it was still the fundamental basis used for a ‘fairest’ electoral law!)

In May 1960, a non-political government was formed to conduct the elections, which calmly took place in June.

On 20 July 1960, following these successful democratic parliamentary elections, seeing that the country had been stabilized and having paved the way for reforms, Chehab presented his resignation and called for new presidential elections. He believed that he had accomplished his duty when the country was facing an emergency situation, and that it could now be better lead by a civilian. (In her late years, President Chehab’s wife revealed to people close to her a long kept secret: When reluctantly accepting his candidature in 1958, the President had already clearly expressed to her his intention/condition of stepping down after bringing back stability to the country, and thus remain faithful towards the democratic culture that he believed in, which refused military involvement in politics. He had given himself two years to accomplish this deed!)

After a long day of intense debates, that saw the Members of Parliament rally to Chehab’s residence in Jounieh, the deputies succeeded in convincing him to remain in office. He then decided to dedicate the rest of his term to initiate and lead development projects, administrative reforms and State modernization.

In 1961, an attempted military coup by the Syrian Social Nationalist Party was suppressed by the Lebanese Army; and in order to prevent such future threats, Chehab strengthened the Lebanese Army’s intelligence and security services, to forestall foreign interferences in internal affairs and secure the internal balances.

Chehab’s Convictions Regarding the State

During his military career, Chehab had become aware of the poor economic conditions and rudimentary life-style that some of the citizens of his country had been enduring (notably in Akkar, Hermel and South Lebanon). His modest, yet noble native upbringing, his mature Christian faith, and his democratic western education gave him a human and approach to matters of life. This sensitivity to social matters was enhanced by the military culture based on values that he imbibed during his studies and trainings in the French Military. Therefore, in his firm conviction, public life had to be approached via its social aspect.

He also knew well from his personal experience part of the Lebanese society, that the toughest obstacle that would stand in the way of building respectable public institutions able to offer security, prosperity, protected rights, equal opportunities and dignity to the citizens, was the mentality inherited from the Ottoman era following which citizens were prone to rely on feudal and confessional leaders to ensure their needs rather on the state’s institutions.

President Chehab was convinced that in order to reduce the confessional belonging and strengthen the national identity, the citizens should have their rights and needs provided and protected by a righteous and efficient state apparatus. “First provide them with a strong and fair State, and in time they would naturally bond in a unified national identity.” This was President Chehab’s belief. After dedicating the first two years of his mandate to provide peace and security, he could now focus his work on building a state based on this belief.

During the second part of his mandate (1961-1964), President Chehab kept the same political balance for forming ministerial cabinets in which the confessional groups were all represented; with the introduction of a few new non-political figures into public life like Elias Sarkis and Fouad Boutros.
Saeeb Salam formed two successive cabinets from August 1960 till October 1961; Rachid Karame headed a long-lived Cabinet from October 1961 to February 1964; and the last Cabinet was Hussein Oueini’s election Cabinet (February to October 1964).

A Prosperous Period for Lebanon

The Chehab mandate witnessed a restful period for Lebanon, with few scrimmages on the Israeli border, and a peaceful Lebanese-Syrian border. On the internal front, and aside from the attempted Coup d’Etat by the Syrian National party in 1961, very few security incidents occurred. This provided the country with the right setting, coupled with the many judicious reforms and nationwide development projects, to fuel prosperity on all fronts, and to encourage foreign investments from Arab and Western companies.

All the sectors of Lebanon’s economy flourished during this period, and the country established itself as the center of business and tourism in the Arab world, and the link between East and West.

The IRFED Mission

As early as 1959, President Chehab had entrusted Father Lebret from the IRFED Mission(Institut de Recherches et de Formation en vue de Développement) to conduct a large survey on all the country’s human, natural, economic and social capacities and needs, and to propose plans, projects and solutions for the existing social and economic problems.

Father Lebret (French priest and economist) was the director of the IRFED Mission, a world leading institute adopted by the UNESCO and the Vatican for development studies in third world countries. By entrusting such a task to an international institute of experts, Chehab was freeing it from the expected influence of the traditional Lebanese sectarian power holders.

The extensive and wholesome report presented by IRFED in 1961 confirmed Chehab’s insight into the fact that underneath the deficiencies of the political system and the confessional conflicts laid serious economic and social problems. In fact the apparent prosperity in the capital Beirut was masking alarming under-development and poverty in other regions, such as the Bekaa, the Hermel, the North and the South, which strongly lacked basic infrastructure (electricity, water, roads). Villagers and citizens from the neglected rural areas were moving towards the suburbs of Beirut in search of a better income, creating thus a ‘belt of misery’ around the capital. Huge economic and social gaps were noticed in the society and between the regions, especially at the National Income level.

The IRFED Mission was asked to pursue its work and propose additional solutions to remedy the diagnosed problems and weaknesses. And President Chehab dedicated the remaining of his mandate to initiate various social and economic development projects nation-wide (Beyond Beirut), and to introduce fundamental reforms to the state’s administrative institutions.

The Mandate’s Development and Reform Achievements

Chehab’s way of bringing change was evolutionary, not revolutionary. He knew that imposing radical changes in a country like Lebanon would simply pave the way to opposing reactions that would manifest sooner or later. He knew that in-depth change required time for the society to get used to it, enjoy its first benefits, and slowly imbibe its principles.

Here is a review of the most important projects and reforms achieved or initiated (as part of long-term plans) during Chehab’s mandate:

On the administrative level:

The Administration suffered from the following: Corruption, feudal alliances of employees, favoritism in nominations and in the services offered, lack of competence, lack of efficiency and primitive equipment.

To address this situation, the Central Inspection Council was created early during the mandate, with the mission to monitor and control the government employees’ work and improve the services provided to the citizens. This was followed by the creation of the Civil Service Board which handled the nominations, replacements and upgrading of employees on merit basis, imposing university qualifications, entry exams, and replacing the widely spread political favoritism with that of professional merit. The National Institute of Administration was also established to provide training to government employees, enhancing their education and competence. A Cooperative for government employees was also created.

The Central Department of Accounts (Diwan al muhasabat) was set, to scrutinize the legal and financial aspects of public procedures and proposed decisions.

A new Municipalities Law, established 380 new municipalities in the various regions; and the powers of the regions’ governors (muhafiz) was broadened to make administrative services less centralized.

On the judiciary level, the Higher Judicial Council, the State Court (Majliss Al Chura) and the Institute of Judicial Studies were restructured.

Chehab’s belief in democratic values and the freedom of the press was firm. To face the poor resistance of the private media to foreign interference, the Ministry of Information was reorganized, with the goal of strengthening the governmental media apparatus.

The Ministry of Planning was also reorganized to meet the requirements of the various development projects and reforms.

On the social and economic level:

Like mentioned earlier social development was perceived by Chehab as the most needed element to strengthen the national bonding and improve the citizens’ quality of life. The aim was to create social equality, through an equal and complementary nation-wide development.

As early as 1959, the Office of Planning and Social Development was established, followed soon after by the National Council for Planning and Development. In 1962, the first National Plan of Development was adopted. Many committees and specialized bodies were formed and other existing ones reorganized to enhance modernization and the various development projects and plans. They covered the areas of economy, finance, banking, education, agriculture, industry, construction, tourism, health, social welfare, police and administration. The National Council for Scientific Research was initiated, grouping the best experts in the country and prominent personalities; it was given like in European countries, an initial role of professional advice in all preparative studies.

The Executive Council for Major Projects was established in line with the one existing in France, and it’s first projects were not only great constructions (highways, bridges), but also bringing basic infrastructure to the less privileged regions and remote areas. About 1150 villages were thus equipped with water, electricity, roads, and schools were built. The Council undertook also major projects for the Industrial sector. (The number of employees in the Industry sector tripled between 1958 and 1964). The Executive Council for Major Projects in Beirut was also created.

Early in the mandate, the Minimum Wage for employees was significantly raised (From 94 L.L. to 125 L.L.) and a mechanism for readjusting it when needed, was set. A Law for Foreign Workers was issued to organize the status of foreign manpower and protect local workers.

Schools, health and social centers were started in the regions, providing training, social services and supporting handicraft activities for the rural population. Agricultural training was offered for farmers, and the Office for Fruits and Office for Wheat and Sugar Beet were created to provide farmers with technical support, and help them in packaging, marketing, and the control of international quality and export. A Cooperatives Law was promulgated to encourage solidarity and expenses sharing/saving amongst farmers. (The figures of the country’s exports tripled between 1961 and 1965).

Education was given an essential consideration, especially in the remote areas. Between 1959 and 1970, the number of students in the South and the Bekaa rose from 64,000 to 225,000 students. A law organizing Higher Educationwas promulgated, and the Office of Youth and Sports was created. The Lebanese University was expanded, and branches in the following specialization were inaugurated: Law, Political Science, Literature, Sciences and Social Studies.

As per the IRFED Mission recommendations, priority was set on promoting Lebanese Tourism; and the National Council of Tourism was created. Touristic sites were renovated (Jeita grotto, excavations in Saida, Byblos, Tyr, Anjar, Tripoli), rest-areas were built near the sites, and promotion offices were opened in various European, Arab and American cities. (The number of hotels in the country, rose from 245 hotels in 1960, to 339 in 1970)

A very important innovation (fought powerfully by large employers) was the creation of the National Fund of Social Security, which brought financial security and stability for employees, providing them with the right for indemnities mainly at the end of employment and retirement, and medical covering. A Public Housing Institute was also created.

Another major achievement was the new Code of Money and Credit and the creation of the Central Bank of Lebanon to organize the banking and finance sectors (the banking authority was still under the Bank of Lebanon and Syria). These two fundamental projects faced fierce criticism from leading businessmen, accusing them of bringing harm to free economy and bringing forth governmental control. Chehab gave these projects a very high priority and supervised their execution personally.

In the environmental field, The Green Plan project was initiated, and the Litany Project and Qaraoun Dam were completed. The Green Plan offered advice for farmers and long-term credit facilities. It opened new roads, gave a prime importance to irrigation facilities (650 new water tanks were built), and distributed large number of saplings of a variety of trees, and undertook huge forestation campaigns and plans, covering tens of thousands of hectares.

The new Code of Urbanism and the Civil Organization Law aimed at organizing the construction sector and urbanism, and making shelters mandatory. Laws were put to protect the sea shore and green areas. Small fishing ports were built for the fishermen along the coast.

Finally, major work was achieved for expanding the ports of Saida and Tripoli, the continuation of the third basin of the Port of Beirut, and setting the work for the Port of Jounieh in motion. The Zouk-Faraya and Bickfaya-Kleyaate highways were also executed, as well as roads in the mountains and roads to link the littoral with the Bekaa valley.